Avon River

The Avon River travels from Lake Yealering near Wickepin for around 200 km to Walyunga National Park, where it joins with Wooroloo Brook and becomes the Swan River. The Swan River flows a further 72 km to the Indian Ocean at Fremantle, making the combined length of the Swan-Avon Rivers about 280 km.

Major tributaries of the Avon River include the Mortlock Rivers (North and East branches), the Dale River and the Salt River (made up of the paleo drainage lines of the Yilgarn and Lockhart Rivers in the east of the catchment).